Finding Yourself in a Pandemic World

Marsha Maung
7 min readMay 22, 2021
Doodling, painting, art, and journaling helps us find ourselves. Credit: https://unsplash.com/photos/VlXlW77swwY

I have to say that it’s been some time since I’ve felt so anxious and stressed.

When I was raising my little boys all alone, stress and anxiety about every little unknown thing out there rested heavily on my shoulders, so stress and anxiety were my twin bosom buddies.

But my boys are grown up now and for some time, I’ve had the liberty of not having to know whether they ate their vegetables or not, nor do I have to help them shower anymore. They’re self-feeding, self-cleaning people now.

It’s liberating.

However, with that said, the COVID-19 Pandemic has brought life almost to a complete halt on some fronts, turning things upside down for many of us.

Schedules are no longer certain, we don’t know whether stores or diners would be open or closed, and if we’re doing enough to keep ourselves safe from becoming infected. For a while, working outside of the home or going out for meetings were no worries as long as I ensured everything was prepared ahead of time and my boys knew what to do when I was out.

I still had to nag a little but it’s nothing compared to what I had to do before. They also make great company for grocery shopping trips, help out with the laundry, and they do a decent job at taking the garbage out.

--

--

Marsha Maung

Professional copywriter. Online Social Marketing consultant. Lover of books and stories. Blogger and yoga lover http://www.marshametta.com